Saltdean Lido

Saltdean Lido, near Brighton

Saltdean Lido, near Brighton

Well, at long last I’ve finally done a digital print of Saltdean Lido, after years of messing about with watercolours and linocuts. Yes, I know it looks rather like the logo for the Save Saltdean Lido campaign, but that’s just the way it came out, straight on in my regular limited palette of colours! Those of you typographically inclined will notice that I’ve reinstated the original Gill Sans lettering. I think that slab serif font used now comes from the 1950s, and the 1998 refurbishment since I’ve lived down here ruined the kerning of the signage compared with the  reference photo (wot I took way back in the late-80s) that I used for this print, squashing it all up a bit, as is the modern (rather than Moderne) way. All I have to do now is fire up the giclee machine and print a few off for the Xmas Open House at the Dragonfly House.

Saltdean Lido was built in 1937-38 to designs by the architect Richard W H Jones, who also designed the Ocean Hotel (once owned by Butlins) up on the hill. On 13 July 1987  it was granted Grade: II listed status. There is some debate about the reason for the platform above the building – some say it was for a planned cable car running down from the Ocean Hotel, but I believe that’s an urban myth! But there once was a sort of tower on top with a flagpole. Old photos here.

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Saltdean Lido”

  1. Shaun Charman Says:

    Excellent again, Fred! I remember the typeface on the Lido being as you’ve shown it, back in the day. It fits much better with the architecture.

  2. Douglas d'Enno Says:

    Very attractive. Any chance of obtaining the image as a postcard/in postcard size?

  3. fredpipes Says:

    now there’s a thought…

  4. 2010 in review « Fred Pipes's Art Blog Says:

    […] Saltdean Lido November 2010 3 comments 3 […]

  5. Saltdean Lido print « Fred Pipes's Art Blog Says:

    […] Saltdean Lido print, promised in an earlier post is now available to buy. It is a digital print (ie it doesn’t exist in any other form), A3+ […]

  6. Saltdean Lido Grand Reopening Weekend Design | blowntosmithereens Says:

    […] have built my design for the Grand Reopening Weekend of the Saltdean Lido around artwork by Fred Pipes, a Brighton-based artist who specializes in digital prints of Art Deco buildings. I have contacted […]

Leave a comment